Auschwitz - Birkenau Concentration Camp
Auschwitz – Birkenau Nazi German Concentration Camp
UNESCO World Heritage Site

  • Duration 6 hrs by minivan (up to 5 people)
  • Price per tour 125€

Auschwitz became a symbol of mass extermination. It was a huge complex of Nazi German concentration and extermination camps situated in western German occupied Poland. It consisted of three main camps – Auschwitz I, Auschwitz II – Birkenau, Auschwitz III – Monowitz and about 45 subcamps.

It functioned between 1940 and the very beginning of 1945. The first transport of 728 mostly Polish political prisoners from city of Tarnów, 75 km east of Kraków, was sent to Auschwitz I on 14 June 1940.

In October 1941 about 15.000 Soviet prisoners of war were sent to Birkenau (in Polish Brzezinka) to build another much larger camp Auschwitz II – Birkenau. Birkenau was turned into a mass killing factory of European Jews. It became one of centers of Nazi German plan called „the Final Solution to the Jewish Question“. Birkenau was a combination of concentration and extermination camp with four big fully operational gas chambers and crematoria

Auschwitz III – Monowitz was the camp where essential to the German army synthetic rubber was manufactured by IG Farben company.

Auschwitz was liberated by the Red Army on 27 January 1945.

It is believed that about 1.1 million people were killed there. 90 per cent of them were Jews. 1 in 6 Jews murdered in the Holocaust perished in Auschwitz.

Komentarze zostały zablokowane.